You made this happen.

It’s hard to believe it’s only been one year since my first art photography show. Thank you for your encouragement, perspective and patronage. I’m especially grateful for those who enjoy my work as much as I do.

I have a large base of family and friends who have made my leap into selling my work less scary. Just about everyone came to my first show. And, I know that not everyone loves my photography, and that’s okay. Art is not for the sake of pleasing every single eye that looks upon it. The work I share is based on what makes my heart happy, and if it makes your heart dance too, it’s totally worth it. If not, I believe that there are others that will. That’s the fun thing about art: it’s in the eye of the beholder (like beauty)!

Someone asked me recently what the goal of selling my art photography was. I told her that I wanted to get my work out there. She asked if it was just a hobby, or if I wanted to support myself financially. In 2012, it was a hobby that paid for itself. As I have given it more thought the past few months, I have to be honest: I want to help support my family too. And today, that doesn’t seem too far out of reach. Thank you for helping me get out there. That first step was scary. The next ones seem much more possible.

Self-doubt still plagues me, but I can look at the year of 2012 as a big lesson in just putting one foot in front of the other to get going!

A few snapshots of those first steps in 2012:

My Dad and Me, he gave me my first camera, a Polaroid when I was 10. Photo by Joe LeBlanc

My Dad and Me, he gave me my first camera, a Polaroid when I was 10. Photo by Joe LeBlanc

My first art fair booth @ Alki Art Fair!

My first art fair booth @ Alki Art Fair!

At the Fauntleroy Art and Gift Show with my little tired assistant.

At the Fauntleroy Art and Gift Show with my little tired assistant.

Let me leave you with my favorite 2 personal photos of 2012: A sneak peek into my life!

And, Thank you for joining the fun.

©Tim RoundsOur family photo - this is what reality looks like when you try to get a perfect shot!

©Tim Rounds
Our family photo – this is what reality looks like when you try to get a perfect shot!

Savoring my grumpy kids!

Savoring my grumpy kids!

About Holli

A "cooking from scratch" geek, Mom, Wife, Seattle Native, Photographer and serial volunteer.
This entry was posted in Inspiration, Motherhood, Photography, Review, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to You made this happen.

  1. sybil says:

    There are no words to express how much I love that family photo. Absolutely priceless!

Leave a Reply

