Keep Your Face in the Sunshine

“Keep your face in the sunshine and the shadows will fall behind you.” ~Irish Proverb

This is normally a joyous month, and has been full of what I expected getting ready for Christmas: crafts with my kids and shipping out a few lovely orders in time for gifting…

Trying to face the sunshine.

Trying to face the sunshine.

I was about to use Friday morning as a time to run last minute errands and update here with some lovely photos, but instead I cried. I ran my errands and cried all the way to my daughter’s preschool to pick her up. The tragic loss of students and staff at Newtown’s Sandy Hook Elementary School cut me to the heart.

It was all I could do to wipe up my tears before my daughter saw me as she galloped out of class, arms full of her coat, and ready to head home. Thankfully, a friend and her baby dropped by shortly after we got home. Her baby boy is 4 months old and his smiles and coos – every smile and sound he made as he enjoyed my 4-year-old’s attention was like a sweet balm to my heart.

Life is indeed short and full of heart ache, but also joy. The struggle is to not let the ache overshadow the beauty and light in our life at every moment. And, I try my best to keep my face in the sunshine, after a good cry. It reminds me of the beauty sunshine makes on rain drops after a storm…They seem like diamonds.

I try to enjoy the diamonds in every day life, and hope you do too.Fall Rain

About Holli

A "cooking from scratch" geek, Mom, Wife, Seattle Native, Photographer and serial volunteer.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

