My creative teacher is my Mother

My Mommy was my first creative teacher. The first time I remember her creating something was when I was about 4 years old. She painted on large canvas in her bedroom. My brother and I stood at eye level with the canvas on the table, and she let us each pick out a color of paint. Then, she used those colors and one or two of her choosing and made a mesmerizing scene. I thought it was like magic to do that sort of thing. Just watching those brush strokes and colors merge was enchanting.

Two years later and 4 years after I stole her camera for my first shot, she encouraged my interest in Photography by posing for me on purpose. You see, I wanted to take photos of her, and would try to do so in the moment without posing. What I was able to capture was fun! This photo won me my first award.

Portrait of my Mom, captured at age 6.

As I grew older, my Mother encouraged me to try any creative endeavor I wanted. I painted, created some metal work, enjoyed painting a small mural and began writing. When I rediscovered my love of photography, she was my first fan. My first SLR camera was her father’s. He died when I was 13, and I finally dusted off his prized Contax camera with Carl Ziess Lenses four years later. My first photos were of people.

Capturing life in moments of joy and the mundane make me feel delighted. I love people. I think what I really love is capturing the beauty in life, and so my work has expanded to art photography in nature and my surroundings.

And, I have my Mom to thank for this sense of wonder and exploration with my photography. I am forever grateful for her patience and example.

What has your Mother taught you? Don’t forget to thank her!

About Holli

A "cooking from scratch" geek, Mom, Wife, Seattle Native, Photographer and serial volunteer.
This entry was posted in Family, Motherhood, Photography and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to My creative teacher is my Mother

  1. Pingback: Thinking of my Mom — Scratch Treehouse

  2. JoAnne says:

    Your mother was my creative teacher, too (and what a beautiful picture of her). We first became friends in Mrs. Bergman’s art class. It was a rough time for me–I was feeling bad about almost everything I did. Art was just a way to relax and forget about the problems–there was no expectation of doing anything worthwhile. But your mom honestly thought my art was good. I didn’t believe her–my work really wasn’t as good as hers. But she insisted–I remember once she made me look at the work of everyone else in the class and compare it with my own. I finally had to admit she might have a point. From then on, I began to develop confidence in my own aesthetic judgement. It was also the starting point in learning to recognize and control my own “creative flow.” Today I depend on that creativity to make a living as a writer/editor.

    • holliwithani says:

      Thank you for sharing your story, JoAnne. I love how much difference one person can make, and hearing about what my Mom has done too.

      We all need people who see something in us we can’t yet see ourselves, to help us grow in a positive light.

      Happy Mother’s Day to you!

Leave a Reply

