Goals and Transformers

My new creative project for 2012

As soon as my Photography show was up on the walls at Sugar Rush Coffee and Baking Company I thought to myself, “What next?” And, people started asking me the same question after the Opening Reception. I thought to myself that I wanted to do something a little different, a project or series, but I didn’t know what yet, and didn’t let the ideas leave my brain.

A few days after the Opening Reception, I got an email from my neighbor sharing this idea she and her husband had about doing a Calendar with his Transformers and her Garden. Thus, the Transformers in the Garden project was born. They merely wanted a Calender for themselves. I came on board thinking this project would deserve a wider audience.

And so, this is how my next photography project got started! Just a thought, then a prompt, and now with our first session complete, I’m really excited about it.

…..

Goals: yes, I have a few! The most important lesson this Photography show has taught me is the power of putting our goals out and up where we feel the pressure to complete them. To put this lesson to good use, here are my goals for 2012:

– Two Photography Shows: With one under my belt, I know it’s a lot of work. And, I know how much fun it was. So, I want to do more.

– Complete a Photography Project: Yes, the one above is plenty. But, I have a few more rattling around in my brain involving vegetables. While one is already going, I may have more that are destined for completion by 2013.

– Market my Photography: No, I’m not going to send out postcards or do direct mailing lists. I am, however, looking at ways to get creative with my work. For example, I can donate a piece of work to my son’s school auction (which I’m going to do). And, I could donate one to a local Art Lending Library. This is one area I have the most need for growth. I’m happy to share as I learn!

p.s. The Rainbow of Life show will be up for one more week at Sugar Rush, 4541 California Ave. SW Seattle, WA 98116 – check it out and don’t forget it’s a partial benefit for the West Seattle Food Bank (donation bin by the door).

About Holli

A "cooking from scratch" geek, Mom, Wife, Seattle Native, Photographer and serial volunteer.
This entry was posted in Inspiration, Photography, Tips and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Goals and Transformers

  1. Pingback: Project Update: Transformers in the Garden |

Leave a Reply

