Rainbow of Life Show: Thank you + Review

My Dad and Me, he gave me my first camera, a Polaroid when I was 10. Photo by Joe LeBlanc

The best part of the show was hearing from a cousin, “Wow, Holli, I didn’t know you did this!” It was fun to see so many friends and family members come out to see my work: big and pretty and up on a wall. The comments and compliments of strangers was even more delightful, because they didn’t have to like my work. Being a part of the West Seattle Art Walk was a little dream come true.

Thank you to everyone who came out to the Opening Reception for The Rainbow of Life Photography Show. Thanks to all who have purchased a piece or print, we have raised $367.50 for the West Seattle Food Bank! And, those who brought non-perishable food donations – we’ve filled the donation bin up almost half way.

For those of you who didn’t get a chance to see the show, I’ve done my best put together a slide show of the work – at the bottom of this post. Now, onto a Review of the experience so far…

Review:  The experience of a Show Opening was like a Wedding Reception – I didn’t have as much time as I would have liked to talk with everyone. It was a busy series of waves with many who showed up and wanted to ask questions, and little breaks where I actually sat down. Somehow, I managed to drink a cup of tea.

Lessons Learned:

1) Providing a variety of my work created a little confusion. I don’t regret showing such a variety, but I should have placed my name on every price card. I also could have included a description of where the image was captured as well as the story behind it. Because, truthfully, there is a story behind everyone of them. The only benefit to not doing this was that people needed to actually talk to me to find out.

2) Naming the work: I decided against naming the pieces, because I didn’t want to taint any perceptions the viewers would have. One person gave me a hard time about that because he had to ask me where two images were captured. But, I finally conceded that naming was a good thing after my Step-Dad explained to me the importance of attaching an emotion to a piece of art. He works in the paint industry. Colors are named in collections and themes over and over again. They are not new colors, just given a new name. So, guess who remade labels for them? Yes, I put them up the next day.

3) Promotion could have used more of my time. Several folks I know saw the WS Blog post, and were surprised since they didn’t know I was a Photographer. I honestly felt awkward inviting my son’s Teacher or others I see who I’m not friends with outside of the situation. I think more people would have come if I had invited them. That being said, I was happy with the turn out.

What’s next:

The show will be up until the end of January. I will move any unsold work over to Etsy to sell. Hopefully, there won’t be much left over! My goal is to sell 9 more pieces to reach the donation amount I had hoped for the West Seattle Food Bank ($1,000 – shhh!).

I have two new project ideas in the works. One is a collaborative endeavor with two creative neighbors. Another is a personal one that dawned on me while preparing for this show. My new goal for 2012 is to have 2 more shows.

And, now the whole show, 22 pieces in all. Just click on an image to start a slide show.

 

Thank you all from the bottom of my heart for looking, commenting and participating. A special shout out goes to The Man, who wrangled kids and gave me an hour here and there to put the show together.

About Holli

A "cooking from scratch" geek, Mom, Wife, Seattle Native, Photographer and serial volunteer.
This entry was posted in Photography, Review, Tips and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Rainbow of Life Show: Thank you + Review

  1. Pingback: a letter to new Mamas: feeding your soul and body — Scratch Treehouse

  2. Pingback: When Are You Ready For An Art Show? |

  3. I just stopped by to view this place. It seems to be really good
    and I liked viewing it, thank you for the great post!

  4. Pingback: 2012 Annual Review: Growing — Scratch Treehouse

  5. Just desire to say your article is as astounding. The clearness for your post is simply great and i could assume you are knowledgeable on this subject.

    Well together with your permission allow me to snatch your RSS feed to stay up to date with drawing close post.
    Thanks a million and please carry on the enjoyable work.

Leave a Reply

