The Countdown

Morning on a crisp day by Holli Margell

Most folks are counting down to either Christmas or New Years Eve. Not me. I’m counting down to the 1st of 2012. That’s the day I get to hang up the art for my first show. I’m trying my best to be prepared before Christmas. Our large family loves to celebrate together, but that means that I basically count on the days after Christmas to just process all of the fun times and honestly sort through stuff to make room for the new.

Speaking of new, I did something new with my love of photography. I just went out into my neighborhood by myself (without my little 5 and 3-year-old assistants), and took photos for an hour. It was splendid! Almost like a session of what I imagine meditation is like. I felt so calm and filled with joy afterward. The beauty of nature, in all it’s early winter beauty.

Fall is the time when beauty rests.

Winter is the blanket that tucks it into slumber.

Frozen Maple by Holli Margell

Instead of New Years Resolutions for 2012, I’m going to simply try new things – using my creativity in new ways. This might mean I photograph some new setting or things, or explore other ideas with drawing and painting. For now, I’ve got to focus on the countdown to the show…

Speaking of the show, I got the last big item completed: All 11 large prints are being Professionally framed. I was not looking forward to making such decisions, because I knew I didn’t want to do the standard one frame for all photographs look. I wanted to pick out each frame to fit the image. Expecting this to be a tedious task, I was pleasantly surprised and delighted by how much fun it was and how quickly it went.

Until January 1st, I’ll be tying up the last small details for the show. In an effort to reduce stress for this, I am going to take a little break from blogging here. I’ll post on January 1st some sneak peeks of the show all hung up and ready to view.

May all of you enjoy the last days of December!

p.s. Of course, You ARE invited!

About Holli

A "cooking from scratch" geek, Mom, Wife, Seattle Native, Photographer and serial volunteer.
This entry was posted in Photography and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The Countdown

  1. Amanda says:

    I can’t wait for ur show. It will be great!

  2. Stacy says:

    Fun! I love the idea of different frames! I bet it will end up looking really good together too!

Leave a Reply

