I can do better

My inspiration, my Cooper.

My son’s new favorite song starts out like this, “You can do better, You can do better, You can be the Greatest Man in the World…”  We’ve been listening to it a lot lately. I’m not sure that his 5-year-old self can relate to the catchy tune’s lyrics, but it is really fun.

The other night while tucking him into bed, he told me, “When I am big, I want to be a little bit like you and like Dad.” I asked him how he wanted to be a little like me. He said, “Like you help Daddy, you help him with the problems. And you wash dishes.” The last part almost made me laugh. Yes, I do the dishes! But, I didn’t realize that he’d noticed the frequent conversations my husband and I have around his work problems. He is a software developer, and often needs to sort through a puzzle verbally before he realizes a solution. I do my best to be a good listener, and only understand about 3/4 of what he is talking about. He often reciprocates and listens to me ramble about whatever issue I’m passionate about or after I’ve had a defeated sort of day.

What this reminded me of is what I really want to do: help people. It comes naturally, and is at the core of just about everything I do. So, I’m going to do better with this blogging thing. I’m working on a new site, one focused more on being a blog and resource with more organization and easier navigation. What I’ve learned in just 7 months of blogging is that I love it. I also want to focus more of my energy on creating recipes and a community that is more helpful and inspiring.

On September 5th, I’ll launch my new site! Stay tuned…

About Holli

A "cooking from scratch" geek, Mom, Wife, Seattle Native, Photographer and serial volunteer.
This entry was posted in Inspiration, Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to I can do better

  1. kaarisa says:

    Priceless !

  2. Layla says:

    Aww, he sounds soo sweet!! 🙂

    And he wants to do the dishes!! Bless him!! 🙂

    /Let him do it, as soon as he can!! – Mum didn’t let us do it when we were little (I understand why!) and then well… uhm… turned out we didn’t wanna anymore lol…/

Leave a Reply

