What I learned from the World Domination Summit

The Husband convinced me to attend with him.

On Saturday, I sat in the warmth of sunshine while admiring sculpture and reflecting on what I’d just heard during the opening talks of the World Domination Summit. I was outside the Portland Art Museum, and a security guard approached my husband, Casey, and I. He wanted to know what the event was about. He said something like, “What is the World Domination Summit? We were trying to figure it out from the website.” We proceeded to explain it as a conference like event for creative entrepreneurs. I’m not quite sure that really does it justice.

The event reminded me of a conference/reunion/seminar for folks looking to use their passions and make a living. I found myself grasping to accurately describe the event to strangers we met on the MAX train while traveling from our Inn near the airport to the Portland Art Museum. It was actually unlike any conference or seminar I’ve ever attended. Overall everyone was friendly, ready to strike up a conversation and full of their own creative ideas and projects. Not everyone, mind you, but most. It was really amazing to actually sit and strike up a conversation with someone from Trinidad and get positive feedback about my new found passion with this here blog. People attended from several countries, and all over the US. We almost felt like cheaters having only driving about 180 miles from our home for the event. But, we can’t help being strategically located in Seattle!

Hello, My Name is…

Looking for dinner during the Starlight Parade: Star Wars guys who let me pose with them:)

The week before this trip, I had a Dentist appointment at a new Dental Office. I got the two most common questions about Who and What I am:

At the end of our introductions, the Dentist asked me, “What Are you? Are you Asian?” I get this question about every 6 months. Seriously. One time it was from a young Asian guy accepting my donation at Goodwill. To quench your curiosity, I’m not Asian, just an odd mix of Native American, Croatian, Norwegian and a dash of English, German, Finnish and French Canadian. Funny that my odd looks garner such quandary.

The Dental Hygienist asked, “So, you’re a Stay At Home Mom?” Yes, I get this question a lot because, I am. I usually put, “Home Maker” down under Occupation. To my positive confirmation at her question, she remarked that she’d lose her mind if she didn’t work 3 days a week. Good for her to know herself that well. But, I love being home with my kids. I know we’re all different, but I feel singled out so often because I get to stay home and choose to be a housewife. I feel the title is limiting and doesn’t fully express all that the job entails, the creativity, dedication and exhaustion that it brings.

This was good practice, I thought, for the upcoming weekend meeting strangers.

What I learned

Everyone is unique, but can bask in the glow of each others passion for life. I met people from all over the world, and some from my own part of Seattle.

Bloggers are People too: It’s funny to finally see and talk with bloggers I follow. They take on a mythical like status, like old authors I love to read. At least, that’s what it’s been like for me. I loved seeing famous bloggers and folks like me plugging away at their own little niche. What was cool was feeling like an equal to each one of them. It was really neat to be able to chat with some of my favorite bloggers and discover new ones. My new Seattle favorite, is over at Seattle Homestead – I have literally passed their house dozens of times while driving to visit my Aunt and Uncle this past Spring.

It’s a Big, Small World: Everyone is unique and each holds a voice waiting to be heard. If you’re a writer with a dream of being published, for example, you can do it yourself by publishing an ebook, or using an online service. The world is full of alternative options now.

Following your passions = Being Alive: We are culturally wired to feel safe in the routine. Finding your passion often requires new experiences, and facing fear. Do it. Life is short. Personally, I already knew this, but it is refreshing to hear it again through stories of others finding their way.

For those of you reading this who have many passions, and interests and don’t know what to do with them, check out one of my favorite blogs: Puttylike.com – I met Emilie and Abe in person, and they do a great Podcast interviewing folks living the unconventional life this summit was all about cultivating.

Museum of Contemporary Craft

Where I am going now

I love creating new recipes, sharing about health through real food and learning from you, dear readers! Thanks to those of you who filled out the poll in my last post. Basically, you love all of it here –  Everything was tied! So, I will continue doing what I do here, but also building something new, something where I can spread the “make it from scratch” gospel farther. When it’s ready, I’ll move this content over there, and let this become a more personal site where I’ll let another passion of mine have some space: Art and giving. It’s still stewing at the back of my brain, but I’m excited to share it with you soon!

p.s. You can see more photos of the trip on Flickr.com/holliwithani

About Holli

A "cooking from scratch" geek, Mom, Wife, Seattle Native, Photographer and serial volunteer.
This entry was posted in Inspiration, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to What I learned from the World Domination Summit

  1. JoAnne says:

    My sister is a stay at home mom. She retired from a lucrative and high-status career as an engineer in Silicon Valley to take care of her children. Hanging out with her, I have noticed that some women, and even men, react weirdly to a woman who is a stay at home mom. I believe many of these reactions come from many sad places: guilt about ditching their own children in a daycare for 50 hours a week, jealousy because they themselves cannot cope with the financial consequences of staying at home, or insecurity at being confronted with a concept that might pose a threat to their dearly held gender-feminist dogma.

    When I encounter a woman who has chosen to care for her home and family (which we all know by now is more than a full-time job), I feel happy for her. “You lucky woman!” is my response. I believe a woman like that is blessed, well loved, and fortunate to have this choice. She is living the dream!

    • holliwithani says:

      It is a sad, weird reflection of our national priorities culturally to be looking down on those who are raising our future. I always admire Stay-At-Home Dad’s, because I can only imagine the added pressure they might feel too.

      Anyway, thanks for your comment, and I appreciate your attitude of appreciating Stay At Home Moms!

      p.s. To any working Mom’s out there, rest assured that I don’t look down on you for knowing what you need to do to help support your family.

  2. Kane says:

    Good stuff, Holli. Great meeting you guys, looking forward to seeing you both again at the Seattle meet-up. I didn’t realize you were into photography, either – love the photoset. Those Star Wars photos rock…

    • holliwithani says:

      Thanks, Kane. Just took a look at your website attached to this comment. Looks like you’re a Renaissance Man – multi-talented! You might like Puttylike.com – Emilie does a great job of profiling other non-conformists she calls Multipotentialites. It’s really for folks not sure how to juggle all their interests, so it might not speak to you exactly, but I like it.

      BTW, super cool what you and your girl are doing with your yard. If you don’t already know what you need for chickens, the NDNC.org – neighborhood council is hosting a chicken talk this Monday, at Delridge’s Greg Davis Park, 6:30pm.

      Casey and I are looking forward to a WDS meet up!

  3. I like that you put “Home Maker”, it covers men and women and is descriptive of the work that’s involved. Home making is a huge job and I feel some pain for those out there that don’t share their life with one, especially if they are children. Seems like the tide is turning a little and some folks are getting back to scratch cooking, making things and discovering what mother nature has to offer – thank you Holli for not only doing this but helping others.

    I didn’t fill out your survey because I wanted to select them all 🙂 One thing that would be helpful is to highlight things that are quick and affordable – I really don’t know how two working parents make it work and I respect them for doing so that’s where the idea came from 🙂 Much love g

    • holliwithani says:

      Thanks, Gretchen.

      Yes, finally some constructive feedback:) I can totally see that need out there too. I’ll put that on the burner and try to come up with more product reviews or quick eat recipes. Agreed, two working has got to be rough.

      xo, Holli

  4. Ian Anderson says:

    Hi Holli,
    Came here from Puttylike and so agree with the ‘hard question’ of “what are you?” 🙂

    Especially if you are interested/work/study several things. I am an autodidact; actually I must ask Emilie if she knows about this unusual term….. Because I just love learning new skills. Makes work in my field easy as houses are such a mix of materials/skills.

    You are right about being a stay at home dad too, the past couple of years we lived in New Zealand where there are loads of fellow ‘househusbands’ (it fits in well with the farming life way up North on the North Island) but we just moved to Norway where I think that I am the only one……. (even if I am only a part time stay at home Dad these days)

    Its so materialistic and driving a career at all costs here too. They even work in the pouring rain, crazy mentality. I was/am/part time handyman/builder who scoots at the first sign of rain much to the amusement of the locals! It’s like “hello, 240v power tools and rain….duh!”

    So jealous that you live so close to Chris G’s big shindig, probably have to extend our already outrageous mortgage to get there from Norway!
    Stay well
    Ian

    • holliwithani says:

      Hi Ian,

      Thanks for stopping by – I really admire Stay-At-Home Dads! Good for you to know yourself and take this time to help make your home what it is.

      I hope you keep on being yourself and know that you are uniquely qualified to fill this role right now. Job titles can never really describe us anyway:) It’s nice to know that you understand, that this messed up unspoken value system is felt my more than just little old me.

      Hopefully you can somehow make it to WDS next year!

      Best, Holli

      • Ian Anderson says:

        Oh, there are plenty of us out there, we are still in the minority but hey, quality over quantity right?

        I learned so much living in developing countries and am determined never to lose sight of those lessons. For us now, it is all about each other and our children. Everything else is just problems to overcome.

        In the end it is about health and those you love, everything else is either disposable or icing on the cake. I love the fact that we can all “meet” and be inspired by others travelling down similar paths on this amazing information highway, so removed from many that we meet and interact with in our daily lives.
        Stay well
        Ian

      • holliwithani says:

        I totally agree about the icing on the cake. And, I love “meeting” like minds from different backgrounds and parts of the world.
        Cheers to you!

Leave a Reply

