Turning Discouragement into Inspiration

Not a Happy Birthday Girl, and at 3, it's socially acceptable.

It has been one of those weeks where I feel like I’m just out of my groove. I think stuff just kept piling up without leaving me room to breathe and it all collided with a simple cold for everyone in the house. Nothing to call the doctor over, but enough to make everyone cranky. But, aren’t we supposed to not get sick so much, because we’re eating healthy? I don’t really know. There’s no way to tell, to isolate myself and do a controlled study. I had to stop myself from thinking just that, and just focus on getting out of my analytical rut. The simple act of uploading photos which highlighted the fun stuff helped. I focused on what I could do like making soup, getting the kids to nap and taking it easy to get better. And, in the span of just one day of shifting my focus, I’m feeling better.

I’ve noticed myself getting into a similar cycle of discouragement with blogging. I am having a lot of fun with this blog, and feel like a whole new world has opened up. I’ve met like-minded folks, learned more from other bloggers and experienced joy from sharing recipes or finding that I am not alone in my struggles. Part of this process has been discovering others who are doing delightful things with their blogs, making money, showing off skills I simply don’t have or the time to fully pursue. They all have a set focus, and seriously rock at their thing.

I can’t focus on one thing. I never have, and can’t bring myself to do it. I’m learning from the “have it all together” bloggers, but also find myself getting caught up on those sneaky comparison thoughts. How will I ever look as polished as Jones Design Company? Or as alluring as Gluten Free Girl? Or have such a large following as Nourishing Gourmet? Okay, so yesterday night, I had to stop myself. Shift my focus. I can be inspired by these women, not intimidated. I am not them. I am me. I am a multipotentiale. I love so many different things, want to learn more, and enjoy sharing the process. This will be my mission.

Just like with failure, I can learn from discouragement. I can choose to shift the discouragement into inspiration. I just have to remind myself.

My two little motivators!

Besides, what really matters is offline. If my kids and family are happy, and think that my choppy-home-made-from-scratch cake is awesome that’s all that matters.

What do you do to get out of  discouragement cycle?

About Holli

A "cooking from scratch" geek, Mom, Wife, Seattle Native, Photographer and serial volunteer.
This entry was posted in Family, Inspiration, Motherhood and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

