Recipe: Sweet Zing Salad

Sweet Zing Salad ready to eat.

Sometimes, while I’m drifting off to sleep, I think of a recipe I want to create.  I can almost taste the various flavors and try to imagine what the marriage of them together become.  I try my best not to forget them the next morning, and usually find the time to try them out. Sharing them with you helps me remember them, and gives me motivation to keep experimenting.

Sweet Zing Salad

Ingredients:

– 8 Romaine Lettuce leaves

– 2 Stalks Celery

– 1/2 Small Shallot

– 1 cup Red Grapes

Wash produce, then chop Romaine, Celery and dice the Shallots finely, adding to a bowl. Cut Red Grapes in half, or quarters and add to the bowl. Drizzle with a little Olive Oil and Salt to taste. Makes 2-4 servings. Enjoy!

Options: I think some sharp Cheddar or Feta Cheese would add some extra depth to the overall flavor, and protein to this salad. As for meat, I’d recommend Chicken because it has a milder flavor and would compliment the Shallots. Feel free to play with this recipe – let me know when you discover your own favorite variation.

Shared at The Health Home Economist’s Monday Mania Round-up.

About Holli

A "cooking from scratch" geek, Mom, Wife, Seattle Native, Photographer and serial volunteer.
This entry was posted in Food, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

