Recipe: Garden Green Salad

Garden Green Salad

April will always remind me of my Grandma. Her birthday would be this month. She was an avid gardener and practiced edible landscaping before it became popular. But, she was not a fan of salads, and referred to them as “rabbit food.”  I love salads, so I dedicate this month’s recipes to my Grandma the gardener and salad avoider.

While my efforts to get my kids to eat more vegetables consumes my research time and experimentation, it is easy for me to share these salad recipes. Salads are like treats to myself. Before we began our “eat more vegetables” quest, I was the only one who ate salads. Now, my husband does to set a good example, and even enjoys them (some more than others). You can expect a new salad recipe every Monday.

Garden Green Salad

Ingredients:

– 4-6 leaves of Romaine Lettuce (about half a head)

– 2 Stalks Celery

– 1/2 Cup Peas

– 1/4 Cup Fresh Parsley (Italian shown in the picture)

Italian Herb Dressing

– 1 Table Spoon Olive Oil

– 1/2 Teaspoon Dried Thyme

– 1/4 Teaspoon Dried Oregano

– 1/2 Teaspoon Salt (or just add to taste)

First, wash produce. Chop or Dice up Lettuce, Celery and Parsley to desired size (I usually like to dice up the Celery) and place in a bowl.  Either add the fresh Peas, or thaw some frozen Peas by steaming for only 2-3 minutes in a sauce pan, then rinse with cool water before adding to the salad (this avoids wilting the lettuce). Now, you’re ready to make the dressing.

Dressing: Mix Olive Oil and Salt together, then add the dried herbs. I usually like to grind the Thyme and Oregano first, but you can add them directly to the Olive Oil. Mix well and drizzle onto the salad.

Yield: This recipe makes 2 large plate fulls, or 4 small dinner salads.

Additions: You could add some Parmesan or Romano cheese to the salad, or any other that would compliment the Italian flavor of the herbs. To create more of a meal, I’d also recommend adding some meat like Beef or Poultry.

Let me know if you discover any other delightful additions!

p.s. Shared this recipe on The Healthy Home Economist’s Monday Mania Recipe/Resource Roundup.

About Holli

A "cooking from scratch" geek, Mom, Wife, Seattle Native, Photographer and serial volunteer.
This entry was posted in Food, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Recipe: Garden Green Salad

  1. Emilie says:

    Mmm sounds yummy!!

  2. Barb @ A Life in Balance says:

    That looks delicious! I find at this time of year I have a huge craving for greens. For about 2 weeks now, I’ve been making sure to eat a salad every day for lunch. I make smaller ones for dinner for my dh and I. The kids aren’t into salads, but 2 kids will munch on carrots if we provide buttermilk dressing.

    • holliwithani says:

      I know exactly what you mean. I too crave my salads as soon as Spring starts to show up:)

      My kids aren’t fans of salad either – but do like Carrots, Broccoli and sometimes trying some Lettuce (as far as raw veggies go).

      You might find my Zucchini Dip a neat way to sneak in additional veggies for the kids. My daughter loves it, but my son (the picky eater) doesn’t want to try it because it’s green. I think you could modify the recipe and add some cream or milk to make it more like a dressing if you want (and add additional protein/good fat).

      Thanks for the comment! Let me know how you like it, or if you have a favorite modification.

Leave a Reply

