From There To Here

Reading with Grandma

For three days I did not leave the house. Our Little Miss was sick and only wanted Mama to hold her. We read dozens of books, Dr. Seuss ones being a favorite – hence the title of this post.  Holding her while she napped, I had plenty of time to think, think, think, think.  Sometimes she just wanted me to sit next to her in bed while she napped in a dark room.  During those times, I caught up on reading blogs.

Personal note from Nell.

Reading a post on Peace and Projects, “Remember Where You Came From” gave me a topic to think about, and inspired me to look back on my life.  A few months ago while de-cluttering our bookshelf, I stumbled upon an old folder that contained an old resume and letters of recommendation.  Tucked in with them was a letter I received from Nell Newman.  She was responding nicely to my letter looking for a mentor, and kindly declined.  In 2003, I was interested in getting into the Food Industry. I wanted to create good food for folks on the go – something my mom and I had talked at length about pursuing. She had some amazing recipes, and was game if I wanted to get things going. I knew that first I needed a mentor to learn about the industry. Nell was behind Newman Organics, and since I admired the line of ready to go “healthy” snacks, I could think of no other person I’d want to emulate.  She could not be that person.  But she gave me a copy of her new book, The Newman’s Own Organics Guide to a Good Life, with an encouraging note. Life led me in another direction and that book sat on my shelf gathering dust with the letter.

Fast forward 8 years, and the question, “What can you offer the world that no one else can?” posed in Chris Gillebeau’s book, The Art of Non-Conformity, pops up in my mind. The only answer I could think of at first is simple: Raise our children to be healthy and independent. I think the past three days has given me enough time to see another answer, one where I can give more than two little people. I can share how we’re getting our kids to eat more vegetables!

About a year ago, I watched one of the first episodes of Jamie Oliver’s, “Food Revolution,” and was super excited! I believe that good health begins at home with what you eat. While I didn’t agree with the attitude that Jamie threw at folks during the show, I agreed with his message: inspire people to fight obesity by cooking their own food. A wonderful, concise presentation of this is given during his TED talk. It’s 20 minutes and worth watching!

All these thoughts came together for me today after a trip to the grocery store.  The trip was the first I made out of the house since Little Miss got sick. Today happened to be one of my usual grocery trip days.  At the check out, I saw the usual Checker Guy and Bagging Girl. They both automatically said, “Hey, Guys” within moments of each other, then noticed that I was alone. I explained that the Boy was at Preschool and Little Miss was at home reading with Grandma who was visiting from out-of-town. The Bagging Girl asked if I was going to do anything nice for myself after shopping, and I said, Yes, make lunch. I thought that sounded kinda lame, but the truth is, I love to cook and eat. So, I did just that, making everything from scratch and enjoying the compliments my mom gave as she enjoyed it with me.

I am motivated to join the movement afoot to get folks cooking their own healthy, tasty food. For the month of March, I’ll focus on sharing my recipes for vegetables and my favorite resources.  A childhood friend has her own blog, Feed Me Like You Love Me, and her last blog post shares a similar sentiment of being good to yourself with food in a healthy way.  Other food blogs I enjoy by people I know in real life are: NerdyFoodie and PineappleSage (another friend from childhood).

Thanks for reading!

About Holli

A "cooking from scratch" geek, Mom, Wife, Seattle Native, Photographer and serial volunteer.
This entry was posted in Family, Food, Inspiration and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to From There To Here

  1. Cassie says:

    Great post, Holli! I’ve just discovered the joys of healthy and fresh cooking this last year, wish I did more. I can speak from experience, you’re a great cook!

    (Just added your blog to my Reader, btw. Yay!)

  2. Thanks for sharing my post, Holli!
    🙂
    hugs

Leave a Reply

